The Mayagüez Children’s Library celebrates the 54th anniversary of Martin Luther King’s birth with the arrival of 48 new books, winners and other entrants in the Coretta Scott King Book Award competition for African American Writers and illustrators sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA). The ALA calls for proposals to receive a selection of books from the competition; the MCL was one of three organizations in the nation to receive books in 2017. The books are being catalogued and will be available for borrowing by the end of the week of January 15, 2018.

2017 Coretta Scott King Book Donation Grant Recipients:

  • W.R. Saffold Community Resource Center, Britton’s Neck, SC
  • Mayagüez Children’s Library, Mayagüez, Puerto Rico
  • Lawrence Memorial Library, Windsor, NC

The books donated to the MCL include:

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.